how i came out

when i first realized that i was queer, i was terrified of coming out.

i was terrified and needed support. i needed someone to tell me it was okay to feel this, that i couldn’t do anything to change it and they would love me and stay with me no matter what. i needed unconditional love from my friends and family.

I decided to come out to my gay friends first, since i knew they would be accepting of me. i ended up just spitting it out to one of them while eating lunch with them one day. and that day was amazing- she hugged me and laughed and supported me completely. from then on, it was easy telling my other friends who were part of the lgbtq+ community.

for a few months of being out to some of my friends, i realized something. straight people? they had never come out to me. it was just assumed. every single person was automatically just assumed to be straight until they said otherwise.

i didn’t like this. not at all. straight people didn’t have to come out, so why should i?

so i didn’t- at least not officially. i slipped in having a crush on a girl once in a conversation, mentioned how cute another one was, started wearing pride makeup and bracelets. they figured it out on their own, and treated me exactly the same. queer did not define me. i am a person, and i just happen to like girls too.

sure, some people didn’t accept me. that’s how the world is. they removed themselves from my life on their own- started making bizarre excuses, not going out with me anymore, and eventually stop communicating with me at all. and i was glad- i didn’t need conditional friendship. if someone didn’t accept me, i didn’t need to be around them at all. toxic people? nope, i wasn’t gonna be around for that anymore.

coming out is something you have to do all your life. you’ll meet new people, make new friends- and they’ll need to know at one point or another. the more you do it, the better it gets, and at one point you won’t care anymore. if they wanna be in your life? better be okay with your sexuality.

 

it’s okay to be queer. it’s okay to be bi or gay or trans or whatever you are. embrace it. after all, you’re stuck with it all your life.

come out when you feel like it. you don’t need people who can’t accept you. be you. it’s okay.

tw

Leave a comment